Welcome Visitor
Today is Saturday, October 21, 2017

Commando boys, SC girls win District 9AAA Golf Tournament

Comment     Print
Related Articles

HENDERSONVILLE - A hot September day at the Country Hills Golf Course in Hendersonville was the setting for the 2017 District 9-AAA Golf Tournament. Teams from Robertson, Wilson, Sumner and Macon County came together to compete for 18-holes, trying to advance to the region tournament.

On the boys' side, Hendersonville claimed the trophy, on the girl's side it was the Lady Bison of Station Camp.

Tagging along to the region tournament on the boys' side will be Beech and Station Camp High School, while on the girls' side it will be Mt. Juliet and Lebanon.

Hendersonville senior Bryce Lewis was crowned champion of the day, shooting 3-under par (67). Beech's Micahel Barnard (70) and Station Camp's Heath Petty (72) also won medals for their respective schools.

Hendersonville won the team score with an overall 297 - Hudson Jones shot a 76, Clay Marlin a 77, Logan Spurrier a 77, while alternate Davis Ferguson added a 78, which did not count toward the Commandos overall score.

Beech finished second with a team score of 308 paced by Barnard's 70. Mason Potter (76), Adric Kimbrough (77) and Hunter Ensley (85) rounded out the Bucs scoring.

The Bison finished just three strokes behind the Bucs with a team score of 311. Petty paced the Bison, while Cole Spears shot 75. Eli Thurston (77) and Nick Parente (87) rounded out the day for the maroon-and-white.

Portland finished 10th out of 11 teams with a team total of 394. Alex Meadors paced his team with an 83 on the day.

Other boys' scores: Gallatin - 359: Ethan Smith, 84, Daniel Gornicki, 90, Cameron Martin 90, Jacob Alexander, 95. Portland - 394: Alex Meadors, 83, Peyton Martin 88, Jair Hawkins 90, Cody Hutner, 133.

The All-District Team was named, as well as the boy's and girl's coaches of the year.

For the boys, Hendersonville golf coach Andy Gilley took home the honors, while Station Camp's Glen Tuttle took home the girl's Coach of the Year.

The following players were named to the All-District boys' team: Bryce Lewis (MVP), Garrett Hughes, Mark McDearman, Trey Melvin, Devin Speight, Luke Raines, Heath Petty, Cole Spears, Kobe Hill, Clay Marlin, Michael Barnard, Mason Potter, Alex Meadors, Lane Hooper, Josh Hauskin and Landon Polston.

For the girls' champion Station Camp High School, the Bloodworth sisters paved the way. Ellie (81) and Lilly (83) led their team to a day high, 164. Ellie was also named MVP of the district, and both sisters received medals after the day on the course. Ellie finished first with sister Lilly placing third.

Two Hendersonville individuals will participate in regions with Hannah Coats (88) and Ella Muncy (93) earning their way to Clarksville next week.

Other Sumner County schools: Beech - 269: Ayana Boyd (104), Brooke Gallaher (165): Gallatin: 191 - Kayli Lucas (96), Abigail Gornicki (95), Mary Allison Ladd (101). Portland - 230: Danyssa Diseker (103), Katelyn Woodall (127), Addison Doris (144): White House: 285 - Lauren Myers (128), Ashley Bryant (157).

The girls' All-District team are as follows: Ellie Booldworth (MVP), Maggie Anderson, Meryl Castle, Caitlin Davis, Clarie Fogg, Hannah Coats, Ella Muncy, Ayana Boyd, Bailey Powell, Danyssa Diseker, Kayli Lucas, Abagail Gornicki, Lilly Baldwin and Chelsea Busby.

Read more from:
Comment      Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: